Top 20 Albums of 2012

Well, here it is: my AOTY list.

20. OM – Advaitic Songs

Om - Advaitic Songs

This album just soothes the soul and has some of the most interesting ideas that Om have put out yet. One for the doom fans.

19. Joey Bada$$ – 1999

Joey Bada$$ - 1999

17-years-old and already writing better and more meaningful material then some of hip-hop’s biggest names, with instrumental tracks from J Dilla and MF Doom to name a few. He got a lot of well-deserved buzz from this album, it’ll be interesting where he takes us next. My review of it here.

18. Grimes – Visions

Grimes - Visions

Absolutely catchy and quirky synth-pop from Claire Boucher, I can’t really say more than that. Absolutely addictive!

17. Trash Talk – 119

Trash Talk -119

Sacramento’s hardcore machine of hate go further towards the pure punk sound on this one and they do it well! My review of it here.

16. Blacklisters – BLKLSTRS

Blacklisters - BLKLSTRS

A definite for those who love the noisy side to rock à la The Jesus Lizard, Big Black, Daughters, etc.

15. Devilman – Devilman

Devilman - Devilman

I took the risk of buying a CD of this based on two songs (Bakan Q and 93) and it was well worth it. Noisy dub-influenced electronica with the occasional screaming vocals. Lovely. My review of it here.

14. Black Swan – Aeterna

Black Swan - Aeterna

It’s basically what you’d imagine the extremely slowed down soundtrack to the first black and white horror film would sound like. Haunting and beautiful at the same time.

13. Melvins – Freak Puke

Melvins - Freak Puke

It’s Buzz Osborne and Dale Crover playing with Trevor Dunn, that’s all you need to know. My review of it here.

12. Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Hallelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend

Godspeed You! Black Emperor - 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!

Just another beautiful release from the post-rock giants – if you haven’t given it a listen already, sort your life out! My review of it here.

11. Death Grips – No Love Deep Web

Death Grips - No Love Deep Web

Their second release of the year and their last with Epic Records. I was disappointed by it on the first few listens, but it’s definitely a grower. My review of it here.

10. Earth – Angels Of Darkness, Demons of Light II

Earth - Angels Of Darkness, Demons Of Light II

The second of the “Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light” albums, it’s equally as luscious as the first. Simply nice drone.

9. Dragged Into Sunlight – Widowmaker

Dragged Into Sunlight - Widowmaker

One song, forty-minutes and three movements. It starts off soft and atmospheric, luring you in, only to crush and dissect you with the second and third movements. Dragged Into Sunlight just nailed their intentions again. My review of it here.

8. Cattle Decapitation – Monolith of Inhumanity

Monolith Of Inhumanity

HEAVY, HEAVY AND HEAVY. The technical grindcore/death metal quartet just take things to a new level, especially Travis Ryan with his vocals. Insane! My review of it here.

7. Pig Destroyer – Book Burner

Pig Destroyer - Book Burner

So, it wasn’t the album I hoped for, but it’s still pretty good. Pig Destroyer show their hardcore punk influences on this album, while maintaining the grindcore/death metal aesthetic. My review of it here.

6. Crystal Castles – (III)

Crystal Castles - (III)

I’m currently debating whether this is my favourite album from them yet; there’s just not a track I don’t enjoy or feel the need to skip on this. Dark and beautiful electronic music. My review of it here.

5. Torche – Harmonicraft

Torche - Harmonicraft

Torche sped up on this album and didn’t lose their signature sound at all, flying solos and riffs incite no other feeling than being happy and cracking open some beers. My review of it here.

4. Every Time I Die – Ex Lives

Every Time I Die - Ex Lives

Not a bad track to come from the hardcore/metalcore party animals on this release. Heavy, fast and catchy at the same time.

3. Car Bomb – w^w^^w^w

Car Bomb - w^w^^w^w

Honestly, the band made so many other metal releases this year sound like soundtracks to a Twilight film. Absolutely brutal and crushing, they somehow outdid their debut “Centralia”. My review of it here.

2. Deftones – Koi No Yokan

Deftones - Koi No Yokan

There’s almost too many infectious choruses and hooks on this thing to choose a favourite, yet it’s still vicious and heavy at times. The best album they’ve put out in years to me and that’s saying something! My review of it here.

1. Death Grips – The Money Store

Death Grips - The Money Store

This album blew my mind during each of the first few listens. Pure aggression in noisy hip-hop form that you can’t help feel absorbed into the whole thing. Just astounding and addictive, this was an easy no.1 for me, just give it a listen if you haven’t already. My review of it here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Top 20 Albums of 2012

  1. Fuck yeah Deftones! I didn’t give them a review, but I did throw them a shout out on the honorable mentions list.

Leave a Reply

